Hopkins Among Top QBs for O'Brien AwardThe Davey O'Brien Foundation has revealed the 2019 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List today and senior Kelvin Hopkins Jr. is among the top quarterbacks in the nation. The group includes 30 of the nation's top returning college quarterbacks. The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. Appearing on the watch list is not a requirement for a player to win the award. Quarterbacks from all NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible.

"For Kelvin to be selected as one of the top 30 quarterbacks in the nation is a testament to his ability along with his determination to be the best he can be," head coach Jeff Monken said. "He has worked extremely hard and deserves to be mentioned among the top quarterbacks in the country. All last season, Kelvin displayed his ability to lead our team to victory through his performances on the ground and through the air and we're anxious to see him lead our team again this year as one of our team captains."

Under center last year, Hopkins Jr. became the first player in Academy history to throw and rush for 1,000 yards in the same season. He also registered five rushing touchdowns in the Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl to tie the Army single-game record. The Charlotte, N.C., native closed out his first year as the primary play caller with 17 rushing touchdowns, which tied Carlton Jones '06 and Trent Steelman '13 for a single-season program record. Read more.

Other news