NCAA Releases DI Wrestling Tournament Allocations and Coaches Poll

NCAA Releases DI Wrestling Tournament Allocations and Coaches PollThe NCAA DI Wrestling committee announced individual conference pre-allocations for the 2021 NCAA tournament yesterday afternoon.

The allocations were decided upon based off a 5-year average for each participating conference. Amongst the list of national qualifiers, the Eastern Intercollegiate Wrestling Association (EIWA) received 45 total positions including 10 automatic spots for the conference champions and 35 spots that will be earned by individual wrestlers at the conference tournament. The breakdown for the number of qualifying spots for each weight class at the conference tournament is as follows: 125 (3) - 165 (5) - 133 (3) - 174 (5) - 141 (5) - 184 (6) - 149 (4) - 197 (5) - 157 (5) - 285 (4).

Due to the limited bout results for the current year, the EIWA plans to wrestle for true 4th place at 149 and 285, and true 6th place at 184, with the winners receiving the pre-allocated berth at the NCAA tournament. The NCAA also released its individual coaches poll based on matches through February 7 and leading up to Army's final dual match of the year. The Black Knights had multiple athletes listed including: 141lbs: Lane Peters (31) - 149lbs: P.J. Ogunsanya (19) - 157lbs: Markus Hartman (14) - 184lbs: Taylor Brown (32) - 197lbs: J.T. Brown (20) - 285lbs: Bobby Heald (29).

The 117th EIWA Championship Tournament will be held at Spooky Nook Sports Complex in Manheim, Pennsylvania, on Friday, February 26, 2021. This will be the first time in more than a century that the conference tournament will be held in a single day.

Five of the top seven teams from last year's tournament will compete. The 10 institutions scheduled to participate will be American, Army West Point, Binghamton, Bucknell, Drexel, Hofstra, Lehigh, Long Island U., Navy, and Sacred Heart.

More information regarding the conference tournament will be released in the coming weeks.

Other news