West Point NCO’s Inducted in the Sergeant Audie Murphy Club

West Point NCO’s Inducted in the Sergeant Audie Murphy ClubCSM Michael Coffey and MSG Eric Engstrom presented Soldiers from the 1st Brigade Combat Team, 10th Mountain Division, with powder blue medallions during the Sergeant Audie Murphy Induction Ceremony on July 23. Staff members at the U.S. Military Academy gathered at the Cadet Fine Arts Center to recognize Soldiers for their achievement.

“CSM John Farlow, SFC Brandon George and Tony Giannone, and SSG Ronnie Castro and Adam Cayton received powder blue ribbon medallions for displaying integrity beyond reproach and the utmost professionalism,” Engstrom said. “Their leadership qualities can be characterized by personal concern for the needs training, development, and welfare of Soldiers.”

Engstrom added the inductees were challenged with a multi-level boarding process composed of a mixture of hands-on events and oral boards. The West Point selection process is held semi-annually, culminating with the selection of top-tier noncommissioned officers to be inducted into the club. When an NCO is inducted, he or she is presented with a medallion suspended by a broad powder Blue Ribbon, representing the traditional color of the infantry.

Induction and membership in the Sergeant Audie Murphy Club is an esteemed honor for Noncommissioned Officers (NCOs) whose leadership achievements and performance merit special recognition. The SAMC is a means of recognizing those NCOs who have contributed significantly to the development of a professional NCO Corps and a combat ready Army. Members exemplify leadership characterized by personal concern for the needs, training, development and welfare of Soldiers and concern for families of soldiers.

Other news